The American Association of Jewish Lawyers and Jurists (AAJLJ) and American Friends of the Hebrew University (AFHU) are pleased to present a six-month Continuing Legal Education (CLE) series.  The CLE series will be taught by world-renowned professors from the Hebrew University Faculty of Law and will be free to attendees.

The CLEs will be hosted the first Wednesday of the month at 12 PM PST/2 PM CST/3 PM EST and will run through 03/02/22.

* Attendees in CA, FL, IL, NY, NV, PA will receive one CLE credit per course with reciprocity including AZ, CT, NJ. CLE certificates will be received 10 – 15 business days after the class.

For questions please contact Laurie Stumboli at [email protected]. You will receive a Zoom link to the session(s) you have registered for from AFHU CLE SERIES via Zoom within 24 hours of registration. 

REGISTER NOW

Heuristics and Biases and Court Decision Making featuring Prof. Doron Teichman
Wednesday, February 2, 2022

This talk will present an overview of a wide body of psychological literature documenting the impact of different heuristics and biases on court decisions. Among other things, the talk will discuss how irrelevant factors might impact sentencing decisions and damage awards, how context alters the way judges evaluate the case, and whether factfinders can ignore inadmissible evidence.

Copyright and the Holocaust featuring Prof. Michal Shur-Ofry
Wednesday, March 2, 2022

Does copyright law play a role in shaping the collective memory of the Holocaust? Should ordinary copyright protection apply to writings, music, and art created by victims in the shadow of genocide? To Nazi documentation and propaganda materials? This talk, describing a large-scale research project by Profs. Michal Shur-Ofry and Guy Pessach, address these questions and unravel complicated relations between copyright law and the Holocaust.